Skip to content

2022 Champions for Equity Awards: Evolve


**Take action for racial justice buy your tickets today!**

Event Information 

After going virtual for two years, we are excited to announce our 2022 Champions for Equity Awards will once again be live and in person! Join us at 3 p.m. on Sunday, October 16th at the Terrace at L.A. Live – a stunning outdoor venue perched on the rooftop of the GRAMMY Museum. The event will be livestreamed for guests who prefer to attend virtually.  

This year’s program will celebrate the remarkable achievements and evolution of the racial justice movement – lifting up those who have brought us to this current moment and those who will advance it into the future. 

Proudly Honoring

Champion for Equity Award Honoree
Portrait of Dolores Huerta

Dolores Huerta, Labor Leader and Civil Rights Activist
Learn more about Dolores Huerta
Transformative Partner Award Honoree
Portrait of Sheila Kuehl

The Honorable Sheila Kuehl,
Los Angeles County Supervisor, District 3
Learn more about Supervisor Kuehl
Advancing Justice Award Honoree
Gabby Rivera Portrait

Gabby Rivera, Writer, Speaker, and Storyteller
Learn more about Gabby Rivera


Hollis Portrait

Hollis, Poet, Musician, and Activist
Learn more about Hollis


To attend this event in person, you must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 as defined by the center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Supporters who are unvaccinated may join us virtually via livestream. We continue to keep a close eye on the latest case rates and state and local mandates and are prepared to pivot to a fully virtual event if circumstances demand.

Justice Leader 

  • Achieving America Family Foundation 
  • The James Irvine Foundation 
  • Molly Munger & Stephen R. English 
  • SEIU Local 2015 
    Tom & Janet Unterman 

Power Builder 

  • The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation 
  • First 5 LA 
  • Katie McGrath & J.J. Abrams 

Change Agent 

  • Aileen Adams & Geoffrey Cowan 
    Annenberg Foundation 
  • Brad & Claire Brian 
  • Liz Levitt Hirsch 
  • Paula & Barry Litt 
  • Abby Sher 


  • Beth Burnam 
  • Community Coalition 
  • Roberta Conroy 
  • Lloys & Aurelia Frates 
  • GPSN 
  • The Hon. Marqueece Harris-Dawson 
  • Imagine Us 
  • Bill Lann Lee 
  • New Leaf Literary & Media 
  • Barbra Streisand 
  • Stuart Foundation 
  • UFCW Local 770  

Community Advocate 

  • Fred Ali 
  • Anonymous 
  • Jim & Carole Barrall 
  • Helen Kim 
  • InnerCity Struggle 
  • Liberty Hill Foundation 
  • Bruce & Valerie Merritt 
  • PICO California 
  • Public Interest Management Group 
  • Pete Manzo & Dahni Tsuboi 
  • Vickie Ramos Harris & John K. Harris 
  • Reed Smith 
  • SELA Collaborative 
  • USC Equity Research Institute 
  • The VOX Group 
  • Belinda & Jack Walker 


  • John & Louise Brinsley 
  • Maria G. Cabildo 
  • California Budget & Policy Center 
  • ConnectUNow 
  • The Education Trust – West 
  • Wanda Killian & Mark Fuller 
  • Wendelyn Killian 
  • LA Voice 
  • Mary Lassen 
  • Manuel Pastor & Betsy Hamilton 
  • People's Health Solutions 
  • Provoc 
  • Speaker Anthony Rendon 
  • Christopher Ringewald 
  • Edward & Karen Safford 
  • Andrea Sheridan Ordin